全球能源监测
  • 瓦尔达·阿贾兹、朱莉·乔利、贝尔德·兰根布伦纳和罗布·罗赞斯基

关键点

  • 天然气扩张计划可能导致东南亚燃气发电能力增加一倍,液化天然气(LNG)进口能力增加80%,成本达220亿美元。 
  • 越南、菲律宾、印度尼西亚、马来西亚和泰国处于这一努力的最前沿。
  • 可再生能源可以帮助弥补这一缺口:已规划的公用事业规模太阳能和风能项目将满足 2030 年预计能源需求增长的近三分之二。

东南亚计划大规模扩大燃气发电和液化天然气进出口能力,如果建成,可能会使该地区陷入经济不稳定和燃料不安全的境地,并吸引对能源转型的投资。 全球能源监测.

中的数据 亚洲天然气追踪器 显示超过 100 吉瓦 (GW) 的天然气发电产能正在开发中(已宣布或处于施工前和施工阶段的项目),以及每年 47 万吨 (mtpa) 的液化天然气进口能力和 16.7 吨/年的出口能力。

国际金融正在通过公正能源转型伙伴关系和双边投资(尤其是来自日本的投资)等机制来激励天然气基础设施的发展。然而,东南亚可以通过成本竞争力日益增强的可再生能源来满足其日益增长的能源需求。如果重新调整方向,国际金融可以支持太阳能和风能项目的发展以及地区电网的稳定。

全球能源监测数据 全球太阳能追踪器全球风电追踪器 研究表明,该地区未来的大型公用事业规模太阳能和风能发电能力如果成功建成,每年可产生 450 太瓦时的电力,相当于到 2030 年预计电力需求的近三分之二。

瓦尔达·阿贾兹

随着经济增长,整个东南亚的能源需求不断增加,但提高天然气产量并不是长期解决方案。利用具有成本效益的可再生能源满足需求,可以使该地区免受天然气价格波动的影响,也是一条更加绿色的前进道路。

Warda Ajaz,亚洲天然气追踪项目经理

下载完整报告

Global Energy Monitor
  • Warda Ajaz, Julie Joly, Baird Langenbrunner, and Rob Rozansky

Key points

  • Gas expansion plans could lead to a doubling of Southeast Asia's gas-fired power capacity and an 80% increase in liquefied natural gas (LNG) import capacity at a cost of US$220 billion. 
  • Vietnam, the Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia, and Thailand are at the forefront of this push.
  • Renewables can help cover the gap: Utility-scale solar and wind projects that are already planned would match nearly two-thirds of the projected energy demand increase for 2030.

A massive expansion of gas-fired power and LNG import and export capacity is planned for Southeast Asia that if built could lock the region into an economically-volatile and insecure fuel and draw investment away from the energy transition, according to a new report from Global Energy Monitor.

Data in the Asia Gas Tracker show over 100 gigawatts (GW) of gas power capacity in development — projects that have been announced or are in the pre-construction and construction phases — together with 47 million tonnes per annum (mtpa) of LNG import capacity and 16.7 mtpa of export capacity.

International finance is incentivizing the development of gas infrastructure via mechanisms like the Just Energy Transition Partnerships and bilateral investment, particularly from Japan. Yet Southeast Asia could meet its growing energy needs through renewable sources, which are increasingly cost-competitive. If redirected, international finance could instead support the development of solar and wind projects and the stability of the regional power grid.

Data in Global Energy Monitor’s Global Solar Power Tracker and Global Wind Power Tracker show that the region’s prospective large utility-scale solar and wind capacity, if successfully built, can generate 450 terawatt hours annually of electricity, which equates to almost two-thirds of electricity demand projected by 2030.

Warda Ajaz

Energy demand is increasing across Southeast Asia as economies grow, but ramping up gas production is not a long-term solution. Meeting demand with cost-effective, renewable sources insulates the region from volatile gas prices and is a greener path forward.

Warda Ajaz, Project Manager for the Asia Gas Tracker

Download Full Report