全球能源监测
  • 贝尔德·朗根布鲁纳

全球石油基础设施追踪器的新数据显示原油输送管道在全球范围内持续扩张。尽管美国正在开发关键项目以维持其作为最大出口国之一的地位,但亚洲和非洲国家在建设中处于领先地位,特别是在中东。

根据全球能源监测 2024 年 11,000 月发布的全球石油基础设施跟踪 (GOIT) 数据,全球范围内的石油管道建设仍在继续。全世界总共正在建设近 22,700 公里的原油输送管道(大约相当于地球直径的长度),并计划再建设 8 公里。与去年同期相比,开发总公里数增加了 XNUMX%。

目前正在建设的基础设施预计将花费 25.5 亿美元的资本支出,而拟议的额外公里数将增加 106.2 亿美元。大部分成本将落在非洲和亚洲身上,这两个国家是扩建的主导者。

一些地区正在建设管道,目标是成为出口国,例如撒哈拉以南非洲沿海国家。在其他地方,印度和中国等主要进口国正在现有网络中增加管道,为炼油厂和石化企业提供服务。但一些更重要的扩建正在传统石油生产地区进行,例如西亚的波斯湾以及北美的美国和加拿大,这些地区正在扩张以维持其作为全球石油出口国的立足点。其中许多管道建设都是由国有公司主导的,但法国的 TotalEnergies 和美国的康菲石油公司等其他公司也参与其中。

北美地区,特别是美国墨西哥湾沿岸地区的发展体现了对石油出口的热情。虽然美国在公里数或成本方面并未领先于全球建设,但这些海岸线已经成为全球主要出口中心,码头和炼油厂加工来自二叠纪盆地和俄克拉荷马州库欣储存中心的原油和其他液体,然后将其运往国外。

去年美国石油产量创历史新高 生产出口 数字,今年这一趋势预计将继续下去,最近预测 更高 生产。但二叠纪盆地的外运能力——利用现有管道基础设施可以出口的石油和天然气量——已接近极限,并且可能会受到影响。 超出 到 2024 年底。因此,每个新管道和扩建项目仅增加生产商所依赖的边际外运能力。目前,七个主要项目正在开发中,以减少这一限制,其中四个项目直接连接到拟议的石油出口码头。

德克萨斯州和路易斯安那州海岸目前正在开发四个原油出口码头,每个码头都能够停靠巨型原油运输船,每天出口多达 20 亿桶石油。最迫在眉睫的是 海港石油码头 (SPOT),2024 年 XNUMX 月 发行 美国海事管理局 (MARAD) 颁发的深水港口许可证。

在美国,管道和出口码头的发展将继续同步进行。额外的出口能力将刺激进一步的石油生产,而石油生产将伴随着天然气产量的增加,因为二叠纪生产的大部分天然气都是伴生气(这意味着它与石油矿藏一起发现,并与石油一起从地下开采出来) 。拜登政府最近暂停了液化天然气(LNG)出口审批,这成为全球液化天然气出口竞赛的暂时障碍。但由于二叠纪盆地的大部分天然气都是伴生的,批准和建设石油出口终端可能会削弱进一步暂停或拒绝液化天然气出口能力的理由。石油和天然气必须流向某个地方。

目前,科学家们一致认为,任何额外的化石燃料开采都会导致不安全的气候变暖水平,而且在地缘政治背景下,美国额外的化石燃料出口 减少 通过增加国内外能源价格波动来保障世界各地的能源安全——像这样的扩张是对不确定的未来的破坏气候的赌注。

下载完整报告

Global Energy Monitor
  • Baird Langenbrunner

New data in the Global Oil Infrastructure Tracker show the continuing global expansion of crude oil transmission pipelines. Asian and African countries lead the buildout, particularly in the Middle East, though the U.S. is developing key projects to maintain its foothold as one of the top exporters.

The buildout of oil pipelines continues at a global scale, according to the May 2024 Global Oil Infrastructure Tracker (GOIT) data release from Global Energy Monitor. In total, the world is constructing nearly 11,000 kilometers (km) of crude oil transmission pipelines — about the length of the Earth’s diameter — with an additional 22,700 km proposed. Compared to the same time last year, this represents an 8% increase in total km in development.

The infrastructure currently under construction is estimated to cost US$25.5 billion in capital expenditure, and the additional proposed km would add US$106.2 billion more. The lion’s share of costs will fall on Africa and Asia, who lead the buildout.

Some regions are building pipelines with the goal of becoming exporters, like coastal sub-Saharan Africa countries. Elsewhere, major importers like India and China are adding pipelines to existing networks to serve refineries and petrochemical complexes. But some of the more consequential buildouts are happening in traditional oil production regions like the Persian Gulf in Western Asia, and the U.S. and Canada in North America, who are expanding to maintain their foothold as global oil exporters. Many of these pipeline buildouts are led by state-owned companies, though others like France’s TotalEnergies and the U.S.’s ConocoPhillips are in the mix.

The fervor for oil exports is exemplified by developments in North America, in particular along the U.S. Gulf Coast. While the U.S. isn’t leading the global buildout by km or costs, these shorelines are already a major global export hub, with terminals and refineries processing crude oil and other liquids from the Permian basin and the Cushing, Oklahoma storage hub to send them abroad.

Last year, the U.S. hit record oil production and export numbers, and this year, the trend is expected to continue, with recent forecasts of even higher production. But the Permian’s takeaway capacity — the volume of oil and gas it can export now with existing pipeline infrastructure — is near its limit and may be maxed out by the end of 2024. Thus, each new pipeline and expansion project adds only marginal takeaway capacity that producers bank on. Currently, seven major projects are in development to reduce that constraint, four of which connect directly to proposed oil export terminals.

There are four crude oil export terminals currently in development off the Texas and Louisiana coasts, each of which would be able to dock giant crude carriers and export up to two billion barrels of oil per day. The most imminent is Sea Port Oil Terminal (SPOT), which in April 2024 was issued a deepwater port license by the U.S. Maritime Administration (MARAD).

In the U.S., the development of pipelines and export terminals will continue to move in tandem. Additional export capacity will spur further oil production, and the oil production will be accompanied by increased gas production, as the majority of gas produced in the Permian is associated gas (meaning it is found with petroleum deposits and comes out of the ground alongside oil). The recent pause on liquefied natural gas (LNG) export approvals by the Biden administration has been a temporary obstacle in the global LNG export race. But because much of Permian gas is associated, approving and building oil export terminals could erode any case for further pausing or rejecting LNG export capacity. The oil and gas have to go somewhere.

At a time when scientists agree any additional fossil fuel extraction will cause unsafe levels of climate warming — and in a geopolitical context where additional fossil fuel exports out of the U.S. decrease energy security everywhere by increasing energy price volatility at home and abroad — expansions like this are climate-damaging bets on an uncertain future.

Download Full Report