全球能源监测

结构

Global Energy Monitor 的 Global Gas Plant Tracker (GGPT) 使用两级系统来组织信息,包括数据库和包含更多信息的 wiki 页面。 该数据库跟踪各个天然气厂单元,包括工厂所有者和母公司、工厂状态、工厂类型和位置等信息。 在 GEM.wiki 中为每个电站创建了一个 wiki 页面,其中包含更详细的脚注信息,例如项目历史和公众反对。 数据库和 wiki 页面每两年更新一次,分别在 XNUMX 月和 XNUMX 月。

入选标准

GGPT 跟踪所有在任何环境下发电的燃气发电厂(即峰值和基本负荷发电、自备工业工厂和热电联产)。 它包括容量为 50 兆瓦 (MW) 或以上(欧盟和英国为 20 兆瓦或以上)的机组。 对于联合循环机组,容量阈值适用于整个联合循环组,而不是单个组件。 跟踪器不包括使用回收/废气运行的工厂、仅产生区域或工业热量的燃气锅炉、仅使用液体燃料运行的工厂或依赖内燃机的工厂。

状态类别

宣布: 已公开报道但尚未通过申请​​许可或寻求土地、材料、融资等方式积极推进的项目。 

施工前: 在寻求政府批准、土地权或融资方面积极推进的项目。

施工: 设备安装已经开始(不仅仅是清理/道路)。

搁置: 两年过去了,在项目提案之后没有对项目采取任何行动。

取消: 已发布取消公告,或至少四年未观察到任何进展。

操作: 该厂已正式投产; 商业运作已经开始。

封存: 工厂未使用(超过 1 年未运行)但未拆除。

退休: 工厂已拆除; 如果工厂被战争摧毁,也使用这个术语。

研究过程

Global Gas Plant Tracker 数据集利用了各种公共数据源,包括:

  • 个别发电厂的政府数据、国家能源和资源计划,以及跟踪天然气厂许可证和申请的政府网站;
  • 国有和私营电力公司的报告;
  • 新闻和媒体报道;
  • 跟踪天然气厂或许可证的当地非政府组织。

可以找到部分数据源列表 此处.

​​全球能源监测研究人员通过将我们的数据集与专有和公共数据(例如普氏世界能源发电厂数据库和世界资源研究所的全球发电厂数据库以及各种公司和政府来源)进行比较来执行数据验证。

维基页面

对于每个燃气发电厂,都会在 Global Energy Monitor 上创建一个 wiki 页面 创业板维基. Wiki 页面提供深入信息的存储库,包括项目背景、融资、环境影响、公众反对、坐标和地图。 根据标准 wiki 惯例,所有信息都链接到可公开访问的已发布参考,例如新闻文章、公司或政府报告或监管许可。 为了确保开放访问 wiki 环境中的数据完整性,全球能源监测研究人员审查了项目 wiki 页面的所有编辑。

地图绘制

为了让公众轻松访问结果,Global Energy Monitor 与 GreenInfo Network 合作,使用 Leaflet 开源 JavaScript 库开发了一个基于地图和基于表格的界面。 在精确坐标的情况下,位置已使用 Google 地图、Google 地球、Planet Labs 或 Wikimapia 直观地确定。 对于提议的项目,确切位置(如果有)来自许可证申请或其他公司文件。 如果工厂或提案的位置未知,Global Energy Monitor 会根据可用信息确定最准确的位置。

Global Energy Monitor

Architecture

Global Energy Monitor’s Global Gas Plant Tracker (GGPT) uses a two-level system for organizing information, consisting of both a database and wiki pages with further information. The database tracks individual gas plant units and includes information such as plant owner and parent company, plant status, plant type, and location. A wiki page for each power station is created within the GEM.wiki, and contains more detailed, footnoted information such as project history and public opposition. The database and wiki pages are updated bi-annually, in January and July.

Inclusion Criteria

The GGPT tracks all gas-fired power plants that generate electricity in any setting (i.e.: peaking and base load generation, captive industrial plants, and co-generation). It includes units with capacities of 50 megawatts (MW) or more (20 MW or more in the European Union and the United Kingdom). For combined cycle units, the capacity threshold is applied to the entire combined cycle set and not to the individual components. The tracker does not include plants running on recaptured/waste gas, gas boilers only generating district or industrial heat, plants running on only liquid fuels, or plants that rely on internal combustion engines. 

Status Categories

Proposed: A company or government has proposed a project.

Construction: Equipment installation has begun (not just clearing/roads).

Shelved: Two years have passed with no action on a project after the project proposal.

Cancelled: A cancellation announcement has been made, or no progress has been observed for at least four years.

Operating: The plant has been formally commissioned.

Mothballed: The plant is not in use (if no operation for more than 1 year) but not dismantled.

Retired: The plant has been dismantled; this term is also used if the plant has been destroyed by war.

Research Process

Gas plant data is collected from and validated through five main sources:

  • Government data on individual power plants, country energy and resource plans, and government websites tracking gas plant permits and applications;
  • Reports by state-owned and private power companies;
  • News and media reports;
  • Local non-governmental organizations tracking gas plants or permits; 
  • On-the-ground contacts who can provide first-hand information about a project or plant. 

Wiki Pages

For each power plant and proposal, a wiki page is created on Global Energy Monitor’s GEM.wiki. Wiki pages provide a repository for in-depth information including project background, financing, environmental impacts, public opposition, coordinates, and maps. Under standard wiki convention, all information is linked to a published reference, such as a news article, company or government report, or a regulatory permit. In order to ensure data integrity in the open-access wiki environment, Global Energy Monitor researchers review all edits of project wiki pages.

Mapping

To allow easy public access to the results, Global Energy Monitor worked with GreenInfo Network to develop a map-based and table-based interface using the Leaflet Open-Source JavaScript library. In the case of exact coordinates, locations have been visually determined using Google Maps, Google Earth, Planet Labs, or Wikimapia. For proposed projects, exact locations, if available, are from permit applications or other company documentation. If the location of a plant or proposal is not known, GEM identifies the most approximate location.