全球能源监测

跳转到:

团队

于爱群于2014年加入全球能源监测。在移居美国之前,她在中国中央电视台担任记者和编辑长达18年,主要关注环境和社会问题。爱群生于中国东北,在中国传媒大学获得硕士学位,并在加州大学伯克利分校担任了两年访问学者。 凭借她的中英文双语技能和调查能力,她对中国能源问题进行了深入研究。

Baird Langenbrunner(他/他)是全球化石基础设施追踪器的研究分析师。 在 GEM 之前,他曾在 自然气候变化,在那里他处理了关于当代气候变化的物理影响和更广泛影响的研究和评论。 贝尔德拥有布朗大学地球物理学学士学位、加州大学洛杉矶分校大气与海洋科学博士学位,对全球能源系统的脱碳有着浓厚的兴趣。

鲍勃伯顿(他/他)是编辑 煤线,《全球能源监测》关于全球煤炭行业发展的每周简报。 他从事能源和采矿业的研究和写作已有XNUMX多年,是该领域的定期撰稿人。 RenewEconomy 以及 尾煤 网站。 1992年,他因对环境保护的杰出贡献而入选联合国环境规划署全球500强荣誉榜。 他与Guy Pearse和David McKnight共同撰写 大煤炭:澳大利亚最肮脏的习惯。 他也是作者 Inside Spin:公关行业的黑暗弱点 并合着 秘密与谎言:反环境公关运动的剖析.

凯特琳·斯瓦列克是一名工程师,也是能源和气候研究人员。 在全球能源监测,她专注于工业脱碳,特别是铁/钢和氢议题。 她之前曾担任空气质量工程师,负责报告和核准全美的化石燃料发电厂排放。 凯特琳还曾担任欧洲风能研究所Fraunhofer IWES的风电场规划师和分析师以及国家生态分析和综合中心的通讯专家。 她的研究专业还包括可持续林业,碳减排和野火管理。 凯特琳在伍斯特理工学院获得化学工程学士学位,并在加州大学圣塔芭芭拉分校的布伦环境科学与管理学院获得硕士学位。

Christine Shearer 是 Global Energy Monitor 煤炭项目总监。 她之前在加州大学欧文分校担任地球系统科学博士后学者,并在国家生态分析与综合中心担任研究员。 她的同行评审研究发表在《自然》、《AGU 进展》和《地球的未来》等杂志上,并在《纽约时报》和《国家地理》杂志上发表。 她是作者 Kivalina:气候变化故事,该奖项获得了2012年Rachel Carson环境书奖的亚军。 她获得了加利福尼亚大学圣塔芭芭拉分校的社会学博士学位。

Cole Triedman 于 2021 年加入 Global Energy Monitor,担任研究员,在那里他为 Global Renewable Energy Tracker 做出贡献。 Cole 在布朗大学获得环境研究学士学位,在那里他与气候与发展实验室一起研究气候治理和问责制问题。 他的研究调查了公司阻碍气候政策的努力,《大西洋》、《内部气候新闻》、《电子电气新闻》、Gizmodo 和其他地方都有报道。 Cole 之前曾在气候调查中心、Sher Edling LLP 和跨信仰企业责任中心担任气候研究员。

Dorothy Lan Mei 是 GEM 的研究员。 她在解决气候变化、城市规划、能源和空气污染等问题的国际和草根非政府组织和风险投资方面拥有超过 7 年的经验。 2015年和2016年,她率领中国青年代表团参加巴黎COP21和马拉喀什COP22,促进青年更多参与应对气候变化。 2015年,她被美国国务院教育和文化事务局选为美中专业研究员,与国家历史保护信托基金合作在美国开展历史建筑保护工作。 她拥有加州大学伯克利分校的发展实践硕士学位、河北大学的历史硕士学位和中国贵州大学的英语语言学士学位。

Flora Champenois(她/她)是 Global Energy Monitor 的煤炭研究分析师,在环境、能源和社会正义问题方面拥有十多年的工作经验。 此前,她是非营利性公共利益环境法组织 Earthjustice 的高级研究和政策分析师。 在那里的七年里,Flora 主要与煤炭计划律师一起工作,以确保、加强和捍卫联邦标准,确保合规性,并防止行业将不经济工厂的成本转移到客户身上。 她的角色包括领导有毒煤灰数据分析工作并与国际合作伙伴合作。 她拥有加州大学伯克利分校的环境科学和地理信息系统学位。 她精通法语并学习普通话。

格雷格·克拉克是一位作家,20年以来一直从事拉丁美洲和欧洲的研究工作,自2014年以来他在全球能源监测非全职工作。他是四十多本书的作者或合著者,其中包括多个版本的《孤独星球》(巴西,阿根廷,乌拉圭,哥斯达黎加,墨西哥,西班牙,葡萄牙,意大利,法国和瑞士)。 他拥有斯坦福大学的拉丁语系语言学位,还在圣克鲁斯大学环境研究专业进行过本科学习以及在米德尔伯里学院进修过西班牙语的研究生。 他会说西班牙语,葡萄牙语,意大利语,法语和德语。

Greig Aitken(他/他)与非营利组织一起从事化石燃料融资工作超过 15 年。 从 2003 年起的七年里,他担任中东欧银行观察网络的媒体协调员,专注于防止主要位于中欧和东欧以及全球的多边开发银行对环境和社会造成破坏性融资。 在加入 Global Energy Monitor 之前,他曾在 BankTrack 工作,为出版物提供研究和分析,例如 化石燃料财务报告卡 这给全球主要国际商业银行带来了越来越大的压力,以限制它们对煤炭,石油和天然气行业的金融支持。 他还曾为苏格兰绿党工作,精通法语,会说捷克语。

Hanna Fralikhina 是 Global Energy Monitor 的研究员。 她拥有加州大学伯克利分校的环境经济学和政策学士学位,以及荷兰阿姆斯特丹自由大学的环境与自然资源管理硕士学位。 在加入 Global Energy Monitor 之前,Hanna 曾在荷兰的环境正义组织 Both ENDS 工作,在那里她专注于东非的撤资、气候运动和可再生能源替代方案以及印度尼西亚的森林砍伐和社区生计。 她还曾为环境保护基金和加勒比环境保护等组织工作。 她会说俄语、白俄罗斯语和法语。  

Ingrid Behrsin(她/她)是Global Renewable Power Tracker的Global Energy Monitor的研究分析师。 她拥有加州大学戴维斯分校的地理学博士学位和社区与区域发展理学硕士学位,重点是可再生能源分类和废物市场的政治生态学。 她 写作 关于可再生能源转型的文章发表在学术期刊上,例如 能源研究与社会科学; 环境与规划E:自然与空间;和 美国地理学家协会纪事,以及在诸如 实用潜水 以及 积极的。 加入GEM之前,她是加州大学戴维斯分校能源,环境与经济政策研究所以及公共奖学金与参与办公室的博士后研究员和研究机构。 她获得了加州大学伯克利分校的国际发展研究学士学位。

作为作家、研究员、说客和游戏设计师,詹姆斯布朗宁(他/他)一直致力于让化石燃料行业承担责任。 在加入 Global Energy Monitor 之前,他曾担任 Common Cause 的州和地区总监长达十年,并撰写了“Deep Drilling, Deep Pockets”,这是一系列关于水力压裂行业的报道,在 MSNBC、NPR 和几部纪录片中都有报道. 他是作者 破碎之王,这本小说被亚马逊评为100年最佳2014本书之一。 2017年,他发表了《最后的机会”(《猎户座杂志》)中的一组卡片,将空气污染,洪水,干旱,水力压裂和其他环境问题引入了专卖游戏。

珍妮·马托斯(Jenny Martos)是《全球能源监测》的研究分析师。 她之前曾担任能源顾问,专注于电力采购和能源批发市场。 她的工作包括研究和定量分析,能源价格预测,以及对美国和加拿大公共事业委员会资助的监管相关项目的证词支持。 她在伦斯勒理工学院获得了核工程学学士学位,并在加利福尼亚大学伯克利分校获得了核工程硕士学位。

约书亚·克鲁思卡是全球能源监测的运营和财务总监,具有可持续发展和非营利运营管理的背景。 此前,他曾在芝加哥大学公民参与办公室担任项目经理,并在美国能源部阿贡国家实验室担任Bartlett研究员。 通过与全球非政府组织和国内非营利组织的合作,他继续在社区发展和环境可持续性方面发展自我的工作兴趣。 他拥有芝加哥大学哈里斯公共政策学院的环境科学和政策硕士学位,以及米德尔伯里学院的学士学位。 他于2020年加入全球能源监测。

朱莉·乔利于2019年加入全球能源监测。此前,她是阿拉斯加费尔班克斯大学自然资源法律与政策副教授,主要研究土地和资源管理问题。 她拥有耶鲁大学林业与环境研究学院的硕士学位和乔治敦大学的法律学位。 她的研究已发表在许多学术期刊上。

Kasandra O'Malia作为研究研究员,在数据分析,可视化,编程和技术写作方面拥有十多年的经验,并在Global Renewable Power Tracker项目中工作。 在转入能源和气候行业之前,她曾担任航天器和仪器工程师多年,为NASA,NOAA,美国空军和美国海岸警卫队从事项目。 她的物理学士学位来自路易斯与克拉克学院,并拥有科罗拉多大学的天体物理学和行星科学硕士学位。

Liz Mason(她/她)是 GEM 的人力资源经理,在支持非营利组织和政府组织及其员工方面拥有广泛的背景。 此前,她曾在阿巴拉契亚州立大学的股权多元化和合规办公室/第九条合规办公室工作。 她还在阿巴拉契亚的社会工作部教授社会福利政策课程,并与社区组织合作。 Liz 拥有路德学院非营利商业与世界宗教学士学位和明尼苏达大学社会工作硕士学位,专注于社区实践,专注于提高系统的有效性和响应能力,作为可持续发展的催化剂发展和社会正义。 她也是 AmeriCorps VISTA 的校友。

Martin Weil 几十年来一直致力于研究中国的能源和环境问题。 他的经验包括为 ABB 集团营销清洁发电技术、与美国环境保护署全球气候变化部门签订合同,为中国的甲烷回收项目进行可行性分析,以及在北京代表美中贸易全国委员会。

Mason Inman(他/他)于 2019 年加入 GEM,十多年来一直从事气候和能源问题的政策分析师、数据科学家和科学记者的工作。 此前,他是首席分析师和程序员 接近零,一个气候政策非营利组织。 梅森还担任了大约十年的自由科学记者,为 科学,自然,国家地理新闻, 等网点。 他的许多技术文章和新闻故事都在他的身上 Google学术搜索页面。 他还写了 石油的神谕,特立独行的地质学家 M. King Hubbert 的第一部传记。 他获得了加州大学圣巴巴拉分校的物理学学士学位,以及加州大学圣克鲁兹分校的科学写作研究生证书。

Robert Rozansky 是 Global Energy Monitor 研究液化天然气基础设施的研究分析师。 此前,他曾在华盛顿特区的智囊团倡导清洁能源创新,并在支持白宫和其他机构的科技政策倡议的奖学金中任职。 他撰写了有关可再生能源、新兴技术和美国创新政策的报告。 他在布朗大学获得物理学学士学位,在艾克斯-马赛大学获得物理学硕士学位,并在国际核聚变项目 ITER 中发表论文,同时获得法国富布赖特奖学金。

拉塞尔·格雷(Russell Gray)是全球能源监测器(Global Energy Monitor)的研究员。 他为GEM带来了气候活动和研究方面的背景知识:他曾在华盛顿特区的灭绝叛乱运动中担任全职组织者,在货币主计长办公室担任研究分析师,并在政策研究中担任过研究人员。与气候动员。 他拥有康奈尔大学的政府和经济学学士学位。

瑞安·德里斯凯尔·泰特是全球能源监测的研究分析师。 他拥有罗格斯大学(Rutgers University)能源与环境历史专业的博士学位,专门研究煤炭开发和采矿社区的利益相关者纠纷。 他的作品曾出现在《华盛顿邮报》,《芝加哥论坛报》,《洛杉矶书评》以及其他媒体和学术刊物中。 加入全球能源监测之前,他在怀俄明大学做研究并且是政治学的兼职教授。

莎拉·克拉克是全球天然气厂跟踪器的研究分析师。 她具有数据管理,编程和GIS的背景,这使她进入了环境领域的许多分支。 她的工作包括在国家生态分析和综合中心担任项目数据协调员,并且有5年时间里在风能行业担任GIS经理和网页开发人员。 在她的职业生涯中,莎拉还参与了一些项目,跟踪荒野地区车辆的损坏情况,审查联邦政府对部落土地项目的NEPA遵守情况,并致力于研究环境正义政策。 她拥有布朗大学的学士学位和加利福尼亚大学圣塔芭芭拉分校的布伦环境科学与管理学院的硕士学位。

斯科特·齐默曼是全球能源监测的研究员。 他之前曾在媒体与民主中心工作,研究公司权力。 他的作品曾出现在Truthout,ExposedbyCMD和The Cap Times中。 他拥有马里兰州圣玛丽学院的政治科学和艺术学士学位。

Shradhey Parijat Prasad(他/他)是Global Energy Monitor的研究员。 过去,Shradhey在印度印度商学院担任研究员,从事一些项目,这些项目评估了数字身份在经济,政策和经济发展领域的影响。 从那时起,他一直担任Acari LLC的顾问,在那里他计算了其可持续生涩产品系列的碳足迹。 Shradhey是宜家基金会的独立研究员,他的研究指导了该基金会围绕印度农村可再生能源获取的投资和干预策略。 他目前的兴趣在于气候,能源与发展之间的联系。 他在加利福尼亚大学伯克利分校获得了发展实践的硕士学位,并在印度的希夫·纳达尔大学获得了经济学学士学位。

Sophia Bauer于2021年加入Global Energy Monitor,担任研究人员。她获得了乔治·梅森大学(George Mason University)的全球事务学士学位,并拥有南佛罗里达大学(University of South Florida)的拉丁美洲研究硕士学位。 她曾作为社会文化研究人员,专注于拉丁美洲,使用开源和地理空间数据为与气候难民,环境变化和社会正义运动有关的工作提供信息。 她说西班牙语和葡萄牙语,并且在中美洲和南美度过了很长时间。

泰德·纳斯是全球能源监测的创始人兼执行董事。 他是计算机书籍出版商Peachpit Press的共同创始人,并且著有《 美国帮派:公司权力的崛起和民主的丧失》,以及《气候希望:在反煤炭斗争的前线》。 他曾担任达科他州资源委员会总监和Publish!杂志专栏作家。 他拥有斯坦福大学的学士学位和加利福尼亚大学伯克利分校的硕士学位。

彭小军(James)Peng于2021年加入全球能源监测器,担任研究员。 在移居加拿大之前,他在中央电视台担任纪录片导演和高级记者长达16年,主要研究中国的文化和历史。 他在中国传媒大学获得博士学位,并在温哥华电影学院学习电影制作。

Warda(她/她)是 Global Energy Monitor 的研究分析师。 她为各种 GEM 项目提供来自南亚的区域支持。 她拥有俄勒冈州立大学的公共政策博士学位,拥有能源系统工程 (MS) 和环境工程 (BE) 的背景。 她的博士研究侧重于向微电网和其他分散式能源系统的社会技术转型,并已在知名学术期刊上发表,例如 能源研究与社会科学; 能源政策; 和可再生能源和可持续能源评论。 在加入 GEM 之前,她是巴基斯坦国立科技大学美国巴基斯坦能源高级研究中心的助理教授。

冯云于2020年加入全球能源监测。她之前曾在中国的一家风险投资公司和一家太阳能公司担任财务经理。 她还曾在环境保护组织(包括国际保护组织,国际河流组织和太平洋环境组织)担任研究和会计工作。 她拥有华东理工大学的政治经济学学士学位。


实习生


阿丽亚娜·德罗西尔斯
香港,
中国
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
埃格·尤兹巴斯
埃格·尤兹巴斯
米德尔伯里,
佛蒙特
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
伊丽莎白克拉克森
伊丽莎白克拉克森
费城,
宾夕法尼亚
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

加布·路易斯
新奥尔良,
路易斯安那州
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

董事会成员

  • 泰德·纳斯

    • 美国加利福尼亚州旧金山,
    • 总裁
  • 保拉贝克

    • 加州伯克利
    • 财政
  • 艾希什·费尔南德斯

    • 马萨诸塞州牛顿
    • 董事会秘书
  • 韩晨

    • 苏黎世,瑞士
  • 丹·纽曼

    • 加州伯克利
  • 谢尔顿·兰普顿

    • 威斯康星州Portage

咨询委员会

  • 格里·阿兰斯

    • 能源,生态与发展中心
    • 菲律宾奎松市
  • 庇斯·金廷

    • 人民解放与生态行动协会
    • 印度尼西亚雅加达
  • 莱斯利·格卢斯特罗姆

    • 清洁能源行动
    • 科罗拉多州博尔德
  • 德比·冈卡

    • 保护行动信托
    • 孟买,印度
  • 平田喜美子

    • 纪子网络
    • 东京,日本
  • 扬·卢维尔

    • 收回财务
    • 法国佳洁士
  • 劳里·梅利维尔

    • 能源与清洁空气研究中心
    • 芬兰赫尔辛基
  • 斯科特·帕金

    • 雨林行动网络
    • 加利福尼亚州的奥克兰,
  • 布伦特·普拉特

    • 野生资产研究所
    • 美国加利福尼亚州旧金山,
  • 帕特里克·斯威尼

    • 西方资源理事会组织
    • 比林斯,蒙大拿州
  • 苏·斯特吉斯

    • 南方研究所
    • 北卡罗来纳州罗利
  • 马克·威克汉

    • 赖希斯坦基金会
    • 澳大利亚墨尔本

Global Energy Monitor

Quick Links


Staff

Aiqun Yu joined Global Energy Monitor in 2014. Before she moved to the U.S., she worked as a journalist and editor at China Central Television for 18 years, focusing on environmental and social issues. Born in the Northeast of China, Aiqun received her master’s degree at Communication University in China and spent two years as a visiting scholar at the University of California, Berkeley. With her Chinese-English bilingual and professional fact-checking skills, she conducts in-depth research on China for GEM.

Bob Burton (he/him) is the editor of CoalWire, Global Energy Monitor’s weekly bulletin on global coal industry developments. He has been researching and writing on energy and the mining industry for over thirty years and is a regular contributor to the RenewEconomy and EndCoal websites. In 1992 he was entered on the United Nations Environment Program Global 500 Roll of Honour for an outstanding contribution to the protection of the environment. With Guy Pearse and David McKnight he co-authored Big Coal: Australia’s Dirtiest Habit. He is also the author of Inside Spin: The Dark Underbelly of the PR Industry and co-authored Secrets and Lies: The Anatomy of an Anti-Environmental PR Campaign.

Caitlin Swalec (she/her) is an engineer and energy and climate researcher. At GEM she focuses on industrial decarbonization, particularly iron/steel and hydrogen. She previously worked as an air quality engineer in compliance reporting and permitting for fossil fuel fired power plants throughout the United States. Caitlin also worked as a wind farm planner and analyst for Fraunhofer IWES, a European wind energy research institute, and as a communications specialist for the National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis. Her research specialties also include sustainable forestry, carbon easements, and wildfire management. Caitlin received a bachelor’s in Chemical Engineering from Worcester Polytechnic Institute, and a master’s degree from UC Santa Barbara’s Bren School of Environmental Science & Management.

Christine Shearer is the Program Director for coal at Global Energy Monitor. She previously worked as a postdoctoral scholar in Earth System Science at the University of California in Irvine and as a research fellow at the National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis. Her peer-reviewed research has appeared in Nature, AGU Advances, and Earth’s Future, among others, and has been featured in The New York Times and National Geographic. She is author of Kivalina: A Climate Change Story, which was runner-up for the 2012 Rachel Carson Environment Book Award. She received her PhD in Sociology from the University of California at Santa Barbara.

Before starting at Global Energy Monitor Dan worked as an outdoor educator, introducing people to the ocean and sparking his interest in environmentalism. He has a bachelor’s degree in economics and political science from Trinity College Dublin. He received a master’s degree in computer science from University College Dublin. Dan will be starting a research masters in environmental economics in the Wildlife and Conservation Economics Laboratory at the University of British Columbia.

Dorothy Lan Mei is a Researcher at GEM. She has more than 7 years of experience in international and grassroots NGOs and venture capital tackling issues including climate change, urban planning, energy, and air pollution. In 2015 and 2016, she led China’s youth delegation to COP21 in Paris and COP22 in Marrakesh to foster greater youth participation in the fight against climate change. In 2015 she was selected as a U.S.-China Professional Fellow by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Education and Cultural Affairs to work with the National Trust for Historic Preservation on historic building preservation in the US. She holds a master’s in Development Practice from University of California, Berkeley, a master’s in History from Hebei University, and a bachelor’s in English Language from Guizhou University in China.

Flora Champenois (she/her) is a Research Analyst for coal at Global Energy Monitor and brings over a decade of experience working on environmental, energy, and social justice issues. Previously, she was a Senior Research and Policy Analyst at Earthjustice, a nonprofit public interest environmental law organization. During her seven years there, Flora primarily worked alongside Coal Program attorneys to secure, strengthen, and defend federal standards, ensure compliance, and prevent the industry from shifting the costs of uneconomic plants onto customers. Her role included leading toxic coal ash data analysis efforts and collaborating with international partners. She holds a degree in Environmental Sciences and GIS from the University of California, Berkeley. She is fluent in French and studied Mandarin.

Gregor Clark (he/him) has worked as a writer and researcher focusing on Latin America and Europe for 20 years, including intermittent stints at Global Energy Monitor since 2014. He is the author or coauthor of over four dozen books, including multiple editions of Lonely Planet guides to Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Costa Rica, Mexico, Spain, Portugal, Italy, France, and Switzerland. He holds a degree in Romance Languages from Stanford University, with additional undergraduate work in Environmental Studies at UC Santa Cruz and graduate work in Spanish at Middlebury College. He speaks Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, French, and German.

Greig Aitken (he/him) has worked on fossil fuel finance with non-profit groups for more than 15 years. For seven years from 2003 he was Media coordinator for CEE Bankwatch Network, focusing on preventing environmentally and socially destructive financing from multilateral development banks primarily in central and eastern Europe and also globally. Prior to joining Global Energy Monitor he worked for BankTrack, providing research and analysis for publications such as the Fossil Fuel Finance Report Card which have helped bring about increased global pressure on major international commercial banks to restrict their financial support for the coal, oil and gas industries. He has also worked for the Scottish Green Party, is fluent in French and speaks Czech.

Ingrid Behrsin (she/her) is a research analyst at Global Energy Monitor for the Global Renewable Power Tracker. She holds a PhD in Geography and an MSc in Community and Regional Development from the University of California, Davis, with an emphasis in the political ecology of renewable energy classifications and waste markets. Her writing on renewable energy transitions is published in academic journals such as Energy Research & Social Science; Environment and Planning E: Nature and Space; and Annals of the American Association of Geographers, as well as in popular outlets such as Utility Dive and Euractive. Prior to joining GEM, she was a postdoctoral fellow and research affiliate at the UC Davis Policy Institute for Energy, Environment, and the Economy, and the Office of Public Scholarship and Engagement. She received her BA in International Development Studies from the University of California, Berkeley.

James Browning (he/him) has worked to hold the fossil fuel industry accountable as a writer, researcher, lobbyist, and game designer. Prior to Global Energy Monitor he worked for ten years as a state and regional director for Common Cause and wrote “Deep Drilling, Deep Pockets,” a series of reports about the fracking industry that was featured on MSNBC, NPR, and in several documentary films. He is the author of The Fracking King, a novel that was named one of the Best 100 Books of 2014 by Amazon. In 2017, he published “Last Chance” in Orion Magazine, a set of cards that introduces air pollution, floods, drought, fracking, and other environmental problems into the game of Monopoly.

Jenny Martos is a Research Analyst at Global Energy Monitor. She previously worked as an energy consultant focusing on power procurement and wholesale energy markets. Her work included research and quantitative analysis, energy price forecasts, and testimony support for regulatory-related projects funded by public utility commissions in the U.S. and Canada.  She received her bachelor’s degree in Nuclear Engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and her master’s degree in Nuclear Engineering from the University of California, Berkeley.

Joshua Kruskal (he/him) brings a background in sustainable development and nonprofit operations management to his role as Operations and Finance Director at GEM. Previously, he worked as a Program Manager with the University of Chicago’s Office of Civic Engagement and as a Bartlett Fellow at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory. Through his prior work with global NGOs and domestic nonprofits, he has pursued dual interests in community development and environmental sustainability. He received his master’s degree in environmental science and policy from the University of Chicago’s Harris School of Public Policy, and his bachelor’s degree from Middlebury College. He joined Global Energy Monitor in 2020.

Julie joined Global Energy Monitor in 2019. Previously, she was the Associate Professor of Natural Resources Law and Policy at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, focusing on land and resource management issues. She received a master’s degree from Yale University’s School of Forestry and Environmental Studies and a law degree from Georgetown University. Her research has been published in many academic journals.

Kasandra O’Malia brings over a decade of experience in data analysis and visualization, programing, and technical writing to the Global Renewable Power Tracker project as a Research Fellow. Before transitioning to a career in the energy and climate sector, she spent many years as a spacecraft and instrumentation engineer working on programs for NASA, NOAA, the U.S. Air Force, and the U.S. Coast Guard. Her undergraduate degree in Physics is from Lewis & Clark College and she holds a master’s degree in Astrophysics and Planetary Science from the University of Colorado.

Liz Mason (she/her) is the Human Resources Manager at GEM and brings an extensive background in supporting non-profit and government organizations and their employees. Previously, she worked at Appalachian State University in the Office of Equity Diversity and Compliance/Office of Title IX Compliance. She also taught classes in Appalachian’s Social Work Department on social welfare policy and working with community-based organizations. Liz holds an undergraduate degree in Non-Profit Business & World Religions from Luther College and a master’s degree from the University of Minnesota in Social Work with a concentration on community practice focusing on improving the effectiveness and responsiveness of systems to serve as a catalyst for sustainable development and social justice. She is also an AmeriCorps VISTA alumna.

Lydia Plante is a Research Analyst at Global Energy Monitor. She has worked as a data scientist and as a researcher, using data to further a variety of environmental and social justice movements. She has worked on data systems pertaining to fossil fuel infrastructure, infectious diseases, maternal, infant and child mortality, among other issues. Her work has been published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and reported on by The Guardian, Politico, and Al Jazeera, among other outlets.

Mason Inman (he/him) has worked on climate and energy issues as a policy analyst, data scientist, and science journalist over the past decade. Previously he was the lead analyst and programmer for Near Zero, a climate policy nonprofit. Mason also worked for about a decade as a freelance science journalist, with a focus on climate and energy issues, writing for Science, Nature, National Geographic News, and other outlets. Many of his technical articles and news stories are on his Google Scholar page. He also wrote The Oracle of Oil, the first biography of maverick geologist M. King Hubbert. He received his bachelor’s in Physics from the University of California Santa Barbara, and a graduate certificate in science writing from the University of California Santa Cruz.

Robert Rozansky is a Research Analyst at Global Energy Monitor studying liquified natural gas infrastructure. Previously, he has advocated for clean energy innovation with a DC-based think tank, and served in a fellowship supporting science and technology policy initiatives from the White House and other agencies. He has authored reports on renewable power, emerging technologies, and U.S. innovation policy. He received a bachelor’s degree in physics from Brown University and a master’s degree in physics from Aix-Marseille University, with a thesis at the international nuclear fusion project ITER, while on a Fulbright scholarship to France.

Russell Gray is a researcher at Global Energy Monitor. He brings a background in both climate activism and research to GEM: he has worked as a full-time organizer with the Extinction Rebellion movement in Washington DC, as a research analyst with the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, and as a policy researcher with The Climate Mobilization. He received his bachelor’s degree in Government and Economics from Cornell University.

Ryan Driskell Tate is a research analyst at Global Energy Monitor. He holds a Ph.D. in energy and environmental history from Rutgers University, with a specialty in coal development and stakeholder disputes in mining communities. His work has appeared in the Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Review of Books, and other popular and scholarly outlets. Prior to GEM, he held research fellowships at the University of Wyoming and was an adjunct professor in political science.

Sarah Clark (she/her) is a Research Analyst for the Global Gas Plant Tracker. She has a background in data management, programming, and GIS, which has brought her into many sectors of the environmental field. Her work includes leading as Projects Data Coordinator at the National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis, and 5 years as a GIS manager and web developer in the wind industry. Over her career Sarah has also worked on projects tracking damage from off-road vehicles in wilderness areas, reviewing NEPA compliance of federal projects on tribal lands, and researching environmental justice policy. She received her bachelor’s degree from Brown University and her master’s degree from UC Santa Barbara’s Bren School of Environmental Science & Management.

Scott Zimmerman (he/him) is a researcher at Global Energy Monitor. He previously worked at the Center for Media and Democracy where he researched corporate power. His writing has appeared in Truthout, ExposedbyCMD,  and The Cap Times. He received his bachelor’s degree in Political Science and Art from the St. Mary’s College of Maryland.

Shradhey Parijat Prasad (he/him) is a Researcher at Global Energy Monitor. In the past, Shradhey worked as a researcher at the Indian School of Business in India on projects that evaluated the impact of digital identity in the field of economics, policy and economic development. Since then, he has worked as a Consultant for Acari LLC where he calculated the carbon footprint of their sustainable jerky product line. Shradhey was an independent Researcher at the IKEA Foundation where his research guided the foundation’s investment and intervention strategy around renewable energy access in rural India. His current interests lie at the nexus of climate, energy and development. He earned his Master’s in Development Practice from the University of California, Berkeley and a Bachelor’s in economics from Shiv Nadar University in India.

Sophia Bauer joined Global Energy Monitor as Researcher in 2021. She received her BA in Global Affairs from George Mason University and holds an MA in Latin American Studies from the University of South Florida. She has worked as a socio-cultural researcher focused on Latin America using open-source and geospatial data to inform work related to climate refugees, environmental change, and social justice movements. She speaks Spanish & Portuguese and has spent extensive time in Central and South America.

Ted Nace (he/him) is the founder and Executive Director of Global Energy Monitor. He is the co-founder of computer book publisher Peachpit Press and is the author of Gangs of America: The Rise of Corporate Power and the Disabling of Democracy and Climate Hope: On the Front Lines of the Fight Against Coal. He served as staff director of the Dakota Resource Council and as a columnist for Publish! magazine. He holds a bachelor’s degree from Stanford University and a master’s degree from the University of California, Berkeley.

Xiaojun (James) Peng joined Global Energy Monitor in 2021 as a Researcher. Before moving to Canada, he worked as a documentary director and senior reporter at China Central Television for 16 years, focusing on China’s culture and history. He received his doctoral degree at China Communication University and studied film production at Vancouver Film School.

Yun (Wynn) Feng joined Global Energy Monitor in 2020. She previously worked as a financial manager for a venture capital corporation and a solar energy company in China. She has also worked in research and accounting roles at environmental organizations including Conservation International, International Rivers, and Pacific Environment. She holds a bachelor’s degree in political economy from the East China University of Technology and Science.


Board of Directors

  • Ted Nace

    • San Francisco, California
    • President
  • Paula Baker

    • Berkeley, California
    • Treasurer
  • Ashish Fernandes

    • Newton, Massachusetts
    • Secretary
  • Han Chen

    • Zurich, Switzerland
  • Dan Newman

    • Berkeley, California
  • Sheldon Rampton

    • Portage, Wisconsin

Advisory Committee

  • Gerry Arances

    • Center for Energy, Ecology and Development
    • Quezon City, Philippines
  • Pius Ginting

    • Association of People’s Emancipation and Ecological Action
    • Jakarta, Indonesia
  • Leslie Glustrom

    • Clean Energy Action
    • Boulder, Colorado
  • Debi Goenka

    • Conservation Action Trust
    • Mumbai, India
  • Kimiko Hirata

    • Kiko Network
    • Tokyo, Japan
  • Yann Louvel

    • Reclaim Finance
    • Crest, France
  • Lauri Myllyvirta

    • Centre for Research on Energy and Clean Air
    • Helsinki, Finland
  • Scott Parkin

    • Rainforest Action Network
    • Oakland, California
  • Brent Plater

    • Wild Equity Institute
    • San Francisco, California
  • Patrick Sweeney

    • Western Organization of Resource Councils
    • Billings, Montana
  • Sue Sturgis

    • Institute for Southern Studies
    • Raleigh, North Carolina
  • Mark Wakeham

    • Reichstein Foundation
    • Melbourne, Australia