全球能源监测

起源

2007年,响应气候科学家詹姆斯·汉森(James Hansen)的号召,一个非正式的新闻工作者和环境倡导者团体开始记录美国151个拟建的燃煤电厂。 该小组最终将继续成为“全球能源监测器”。

在20的过程中th 世纪之初,在全球范围内广泛使用化石燃料作为能源。 到2000年代中期,全球所有能源消耗中将近90%来自不可再生能源。 随着人们越来越认识到化石能源带来的社会和环境挑战,人们越来越需要有关这些挑战的范围和性质的可靠信息。

全球能源监测器是建立在透明和问责制原则之上的。 我们认为,我们收集的数据应该对所有人都可用,因为我们认为每个人都会受到工作所解决问题的影响。 我们以严格的卓越研究和分析标准为己任,努力为国际能源格局提供最准确的描述。

从最初对美国能源的重视开始,GEM迅速将其重点扩大到了全球范围。 2008年,GEM(当时称为CoalSwarm)成为地球岛研究所(Earth Island Institute)的附属机构,该组织由著名的环保主义者David Brower创建。 GEM作为Earth Island Institute的一个项目运作了十年,然后于2018年成为一个独立的非营利组织。

创业板的工作

从成立之初,GEM就开始使用Wiki平台来确保可访问性和促进协作。 GEM在151家燃煤电厂中的调查范围呈指数增长,涵盖了全球能源系统的大部分内容。 GEM.wiki是十多年来涉及重要能源主题的国际研究的高潮。 由于来自世界各地的志愿者贡献者和编辑团队的不懈努力,Wiki每天都在继续增长。

2013年,GEM开始发布CoalWire,这是全球煤炭行业重大发展的每周摘要。 2014年,GEM发布了“全球燃煤电厂追踪器”,这是一个交互式数据库,对发展中各个阶段的数千座燃煤电厂进行了分类。 紧随其后的是全球煤炭工厂追踪器,全球煤炭财务追踪器和全球化石基础设施追踪器。

到2010年代末,学者,活动家,企业,媒体,国家和国际机构以及其他研究组织都在使用GEM的工作。 随着气候变化成为国际议程上越来越紧迫的问题,对可靠的能源数据和分析的需求也在增长,因此,GEM扩大了研究业务以适应这一需求。 今天,GEM的团队由来自世界各地的研究人员组成,他们的工作增强了公众对全球能源系统的了解。

我们的未来

气候变化对人类构成了生存威胁,只有通过谨慎应用数据和信息才能解决这一威胁。 在一个复杂,细微且不断发展的世界中,GEM的作用是提炼事实,并以加强围绕能源和环境问题的讨论的方式向公众展示这些事实。

GEM不断扩展新的研究领域,开展新的项目,这些项目有望扩大我们对全球能源系统的了解的广度和深度。 如果这种理解仍然存在差距,GEM将继续努力寻求洞察力。 随着研究的继续,我们将继续致力于透明度和问责制的创立原则。

为了及时了解我们故事的下一章,我们鼓励您 关注我们 在社交媒体上 订阅 到我们的邮件列表。

Global Energy Monitor

Origins

In 2007, responding to a call to action by climate scientist James Hansen, an informal group of journalists and environmental advocates began documenting 151 proposed coal plants in the United States. This group would eventually go on to become Global Energy Monitor.

Over the course of the 20th century, the use of fossil fuels for energy proliferated across the globe. By the mid-2000s, nearly 90 percent of all energy consumed worldwide came from nonrenewable sources. With growing awareness of the social and environmental challenges posed by fossil energy came a growing need for reliable information about the scope and nature of these challenges.

Global Energy Monitor was founded on principles of transparency and accountability. We believe that the data we gather should be accessible to everyone, as we believe that everyone is affected by the issues our work addresses. We hold ourselves accountable to rigorous standards of excellence in research and analysis, striving to provide the most accurate picture of the international energy landscape possible.

From an initial emphasis on energy in the US, GEM quickly expanded its focus to a global scale. In 2008, GEM (then known as CoalSwarm) became affiliated with the Earth Island Institute, a group founded by renowned environmentalist David Brower. GEM operated as a project of the Earth Island Institute for ten years before incorporating as an independent nonprofit organization in 2018.

GEM’s Work

From its earliest days, GEM has used wiki platforms as a means to ensure accessibility and promote collaboration. From 151 coal plants, GEM’s investigative reach has grown exponentially to encompass a significant swath of the global energy system. GEM.wiki is the culmination of more than a decade of international research addressing vital energy topics. The wiki continues to grow daily, thanks to the enduring efforts of a team of volunteer contributors and editors from around the world.

In 2013, GEM began publishing CoalWire, a weekly digest of significant developments in the global coal industry. In 2014, GEM released the Global Coal Plant Tracker, an interactive database cataloguing thousands of coal-fired plants in all stages of development. The Global Coal Plant Tracker was soon followed by the Global Coal Finance Tracker and the Global Fossil Infrastructure Tracker.

By the end of the 2010s, GEM’s work was being used by academics, activists, businesses, the media, national and international agencies, and fellow research organizations. As climate change became a more pressing concern on the international agenda, the demand for reliable energy data and analysis grew and, in turn, GEM expanded its research operations to keep up with this demand. Today, GEM’s team consists of researchers from around the world whose work enhances public understanding of the global energy system.

Our Future

Climate change presents an existential threat to humanity, a threat that may only be solved through the careful application of data and information. In a complex, nuanced, and ever-evolving world, GEM’s role is to distill the facts and present them to the public in a way that strengthens the discourse around energy and environmental issues.

GEM continues to expand into new research areas, taking on new projects that promise to extend the breadth and depth of our understanding of the global energy system. Where gaps in this understanding remain, GEM will continue to strive for insight. As our research continues, we remain committed to our founding principles of transparency and accountability.

To stay informed and hear the next chapter in our story, we encourage you to follow us on social media and subscribe to our mailing list.