全球能源监测
  • 凯特琳·斯瓦莱克 (Caitlin Swalec) 和沉心怡 (CREA)
  • 创业板和CREA
下载

主要调查结果

  • 2022 年前六个月燃煤电厂许可加速,表明政府加大了对扩建的支持。 然而,新项目、开工和竣工的公告放缓,表明发电商的需求减弱。 自 2021 年初以来,火力发电一直在急剧亏损。
  • 钢铁公司加快了对新电弧炉产能的投资,这将有助于该行业吸收更多的废钢并支持炼钢二氧化碳排放达到峰值。
  • 对风能和太阳能的投资迅速扩大,接近达到峰值和减少二氧化碳排放量所需的市场规模。
  • 对新建燃煤电厂和煤基炼铁产能(高炉)的投资继续处于高水平,与中国的碳排放目标不符。 最有可能的结果是煤炭产能过剩的积累和使用量的下降,而不是排放量的增加。
    • 15年上半年允许新增燃煤发电2022吉瓦(GW),与去年相比有所上升,但低于2020年。
    • 30年上半年宣布了每年2022万吨(Mtpa)的新高炉产能,这是自2019年以来上半年的最大数字。
  • 2022 年前六个月对煤电和炼钢产能的新投资将分别导致 8.5 亿美元(82 亿元人民币)和 15-22 亿美元(100-150 亿元人民币)的闲置产能,如果中国的低碳过渡成功。 大量新建煤炭产能的存在使转型在经济和政治上变得复杂。

下载完整报告

Global Energy Monitor
  • Lauri Myllyvirta (CREA), Xinyi Shen (CREA), Xing Zhang (CREA), and Caitlin Swalec (GEM)
Download

Key findings

  • Coal power plant permitting accelerated in the first six months of 2022, demonstrating increased government support for expansion. However, announcements of new projects, construction initiations and completions slowed down, indicating a waning appetite among power generators. Thermal power generation has been steeply loss making since early 2021.
  • Steel companies have accelerated investments in new electric arc furnace capacity which will help the sector absorb more scrap steel and support peaking CO2 emissions from steelmaking.
  • Investments in wind and solar power have expanded rapidly, approaching the market size needed to peak and reduce CO2 emissions.
  • Investments in both new coal-fired power plants and in coal-based ironmaking capacity (blast furnaces) continue at a high level that is not aligned with Chinaʼs carbon goals. The most likely outcome is the build-up of excess coal-based capacity, and falling utilisation, rather than increased emissions.
    • 15 gigawatts (GW) of new coal-fired power capacity was permitted in the first half of 2022, an uptick compared with last year but less than in 2020.
    • 30 million tonnes per annum (Mtpa) of new blast furnace capacity was announced in the first half of 2022, the largest amount for the first half-year since 2019.
  • New investments in coal-based power and steelmaking capacity in the first six months of 2022 will result in $8.5 billion (CNY 82 billion) and $15-22 billion (CNY 100-150 billion) in stranded capacity, respectively, if Chinaʼs low-carbon transition is successful. The presence of large amounts of newly built coal-based capacity complicates the transition economically and politically.

Download Full Report