全球能源监测

建筑

Global Energy Monitor 的 Global Steel Plant Tracker 使用两级系统来组织信息,包括数据库和包含更多信息的维基页面。 该数据库跟踪各个钢铁厂,包括工厂所有者和母公司、工厂状况、钢铁生产方法、工厂产能、年产量、位置和熔炉详细信息(产能、年龄、型号等)等信息。 在 GEM.wiki 中为每个工厂创建一个 wiki 页面,其中包含更详细的脚注信息,例如工厂历史、劳工/社会问题和环境记录。 数据库和 wiki 页面每年更新一次。

研究过程

每个国家/地区钢铁厂的初步名单是从公共和私人数据源收集的,包括 Steel On The Net、OECD 钢铁委员会、SteelOrbis、SteelGuru、东南亚钢铁协会 (SEAISI)、钢铁技术协会(AIST)、Fastmarkets News 和 USGS 矿物年鉴,以及各种公司和政府来源。拟建钢铁厂的数据来自公司公告、新闻稿、政府许可和经合组织关于炼钢产能发展的文件,其中包括截至 1 年 2024 月 XNUMX 日拟建钢铁厂的全球覆盖范围。随后对数据进行了审查针对下面列出的其他信息来源。

钢铁厂数据通过六个主要来源进行更新和维护:

  • 来自钢铁厂所有者和母公司的企业报告和数据来源
  • 个别钢铁厂的政府数据
  • 国家和地区钢铁行业团体报告
  • 新闻和媒体报道
  • 来自钢铁技术制造商的报告
  • 可以提供有关项目或工厂第一手信息的在地联系人

截至 2024 年 2024 月更新,全球钢厂追踪和全球高炉追踪已根据经合组织的“2023 年炼钢能力最新发展”和世界钢铁协会的“XNUMX 年世界钢铁数据”进行了彻底审查。

在可能的情况下,钢铁厂的数据会被分发给熟悉当地情况和语言的研究人员进行审查。 审稿人和合作者包括全球效率情报、能源和清洁空气研究中心、空间金融倡议、能源、环境和水资源委员会 (CEEW)、Ember Climate、Raven Ridge Resources 和许多其他个人贡献者。

维基页面

对于每家钢铁厂,都会在 Global Energy Monitor 的 GEM.wiki 上创建一个 wiki 页面。 Wiki 页面提供了工厂详细信息的存储库,包括工厂所有者、母公司、工厂状态、钢铁生产方法、工厂产能和实际产量、位置(坐标和地图)和熔炉详细信息,以及其他深入信息可能包括工厂背景、融资、环境影响、原材料采购、成品用途、公众反对、航拍照片、视频和工厂环境许可链接。 根据标准 wiki 惯例,所有信息都链接到已发布的参考资料,例如新闻文章、公司或政府报告或监管许可。 为了确保开放访问 wiki 环境中的数据完整性,全球能源监测研究人员审查了项目 wiki 页面的所有编辑。

工厂产能和实际产量

产能被定义为工厂能够使用当前现场设备生产的粗铁或钢吨数。 产量是工厂在给定年份每年生产的实际粗铁或粗钢吨数。

全球钢铁厂追踪器提供每个工厂的粗钢产能和炼铁产能(所有生产方法)的总和,按运营状态组织(参见“常见问题“ 更多细节)。炼钢是使用炉子以生铁/铁水、直接还原铁/海绵铁和/或废钢生产粗钢的过程。因此,炼钢能力和实际产量是指炼钢炉的产量。炼铁是通过用冶金煤(生产生铁/铁水)或由天然气或煤产生的还原性气体或元素碳(生产直接还原铁/海绵铁)还原铁矿石来生产液态铁的过程。因此,炼铁能力是指炼铁炉/机组的产量。 

钢铁原料的制备需要其它具有单独生产能力和生产水平的设备。用于钢铁制造过程的铁矿石的制备通常涉及造粒或烧结以产生大小均一的铁矿石块。在以煤炭为基础的钢铁制造中,冶金煤通过在焦炉中的烘烤过程转变为“焦炭”。 

研究并记录了粗钢、生铁、镍铁、焦炭、球团矿和烧结矿的工厂产能。如果有的话,提供从 2019 年开始的粗铁和钢的实际产量。如果可能,工厂炼钢能力和产量按所使用的生产工艺(即电弧炉、转炉或平炉)进行区分。炼铁能力和产量也按生产工艺和产品来区分(即高炉(铁水/生铁)、直接还原铁厂(直接还原铁/海绵铁))。在某些无法找到工厂产能的情况下,工厂产能是根据历史产值、熔炉产能或按比例评估相应工厂之间的公司产能来估计的。

如果已知给定产品的工厂产能大于零,但无法准确找到或估算确切值,则产能列为“> 0”,生产列为“未知”。如果已知给定产品的工厂产能或产量为零,则产能和产量均列为“ N / A”(不适用)。如果无法确定某家工厂是否生产给定产品,则产能和产量均列为“未知”。 

全球能源监测的Wiki页面按钢铁和炼铁工艺提供了详细的产能和生产信息,以及可获知的镍铁,焦炭,铁丸和烧结矿产能。

植物状态类别

公布:已在企业或政府规划文件中公布但尚未开始运营的项目。

建筑业:实体厂房结构建设已开始。

操作:工厂正在运行一台或多台炼铁炉或炼钢炉。

退休前经营:工厂正在运行一台或多台炼铁炉或炼钢炉。

封存:钢铁厂已闲置,无法立即投产,但并未关闭。

退休:工厂已停止运营,不再有能力生产铁和/或钢。

取消: 先前计划或正在开发的工厂已被取消。如果5年后,拟建工厂没有任何进展或公告,该工厂将被视为被取消。

劳动力规模

研究并记录了每个钢铁厂的劳动力规模(如果有的话)。 劳动力规模旨在捕捉在给定钢铁厂工作的全职员工的数量。 在某些情况下,当无法找到特定工厂的劳动力规模时,它是根据公司范围内的劳动力数据估算的。 作为已知的第一个在工厂级别捕获钢铁行业劳动力规模的尝试,GEM 提供此数据时需要注意的是,对于许多工厂来说,劳动力规模仍然未知和/或报告的具体人员数量缺乏透明度。劳动力规模(即全职与兼职工人、临时/合同工、行政人员等)。 我们提供这些数据的目的是创建一个可以改进劳动力规模数据的起点。

地图绘制

为了方便公众获取结果,全球能源监测与绿色信息网络(GreenInfo Network)合作,使用Leaflet Open-Source JavaScript库开发了基于地图和基于表格的界面。在具有精确坐标的情况下,已使用Google Maps,Google Earth,Planet Labs或Wikimapia确定了位置。对于规划中的项目,确切的位置(如果可知)来自申请书或其它公司文档。如果工厂或者规划工厂的位置未知,GEM会确定最近似的位置。

Global Energy Monitor

Architecture

Global Energy Monitor’s Global Steel Plant Tracker uses a two-level system for organizing information, consisting of both a database and wiki pages with further information. The database tracks individual iron and steel plants and includes information such as plant owner and parent company, plant status, iron and steel production method, plant capacity, annual production, location, and furnace details (capacity, age, model, etc.). A wiki page for each plant is created within GEM.wiki, and contains more detailed, footnoted information such as plant history, labor/social issues, and environmental records. The database and wiki pages are updated annually.

Research Process

A preliminary list of steel plants in each country/area was gathered from public and private data sources including Steel On The Net, OECD Steel Committee, SteelOrbis, SteelGuru, South East Asian Iron and Steel Institute (SEAISI), Association for Iron & Steel Technology (AIST), Fastmarkets News, and USGS Mineral Yearbooks, as well as various company and government sources. Data for proposed iron and steel plants was gathered from company announcements, press releases, government permits, and the OECD papers on steelmaking capacity developments, and includes global coverage of iron and steel plants proposed as of March 1, 2024. The data was then vetted against additional sources of information, listed below.

Iron and steel plant data is updated and maintained through six main sources:

  • Corporate reports and data sources from iron and steel plant owner and parent companies
  • Government data on individual iron and steel plants
  • Reports by national and regional iron and steel industry groups
  • News and media reports
  • Reports from iron and steel technology manufacturers
  • On the ground contacts who can provide first-hand information about a project or plant

As of the April 2024 update, the Global Steel Plant Tracker and Global Blast Furnace Tracker have been reviewed thoroughly against the OECD’s “Latest Developments in Steelmaking Capacity 2024” and the World Steel Association’s “World Steel in Figures 2023”.

Where possible, iron and steel plant data is circulated for review to researchers familiar with local conditions and languages. Reviewers and collaborators include Global Efficiency Intelligence, Centre for Research on Energy and Clean Air, Spatial Finance Initiative, Council on Energy, Environment and Water (CEEW), Ember Climate, Raven Ridge Resources, and many other individual contributors.

Wiki Pages

For each iron and steel plant, a wiki page is created on Global Energy Monitor’s GEM.wiki. Wiki pages provide a repository for plant details including plant owner, parent company, plant status, iron and steel production method, plant capacity and actual production, location (coordinates and map), and furnace details, as well as additional in-depth information that may include plant background, financing, environmental impacts, raw material sourcing, finished product uses, public opposition, aerial photographs, videos, and links to plant environmental permits. Under standard wiki convention, all information is linked to a published reference, such as a news article, company or government report, or a regulatory permit. In order to ensure data integrity in the open-access wiki environment, Global Energy Monitor researchers review all edits of project wiki pages.

Plant Capacity and Actual Production

Capacity is defined as the tonnes of crude iron or steel per annum that a plant is capable of producing with units currently onsite. Production is actual tonnes of crude iron or steel per annum produced at a plant in a given year.

The Global Steel Plant Tracker provides a sum total crude steelmaking capacity and ironmaking capacity (across all production methods) for each plant, organized by operating status (see “Frequently Asked Questions” for more details). Steelmaking is a process that uses a furnace to produce crude steel from pig iron/hot metal, direct reduced iron/sponge iron, and/or scrap steel. Thus, steelmaking capacity and actual production refers to the output of steelmaking furnaces. Ironmaking is the process of producing liquid iron by reducing iron ore with either metallurgical coal (to produce pig iron/hot metal) or a reducing gas or elemental carbon produced from natural gas or coal (to produce direct reduced iron/sponge iron). Thus, ironmaking capacity refers to the output of ironmaking furnaces/units. 

Raw material preparation for iron and steelmaking requires other units that also have individual capacity and production levels. Preparation of iron ore for the iron and steelmaking process often involves pelletization or sintering to create uniform-sized iron ore pieces. In coal-based iron and steelmaking, metallurgical coal is transformed to “coke” through a baking process in coke ovens. 

Plant capacities for crude steel, iron, ferronickel, coke, iron pellets, and sinter were researched and recorded. When available, actual production of crude iron and steel is provided, beginning with the year 2019. When possible, plant steelmaking capacity and production was distinguished by the production process used (i.e. electric arc furnace, basic oxygen furnace, or open hearth furnace). Ironmaking capacity and production was also distinguished by production process and product (i.e. blast furnace (hot metal/pig iron), direct reduced iron plant (DRI/sponge iron)). In some cases where plant capacity could not be found, plant capacities were estimated based on historic production values, furnace capacities, or by pro-rating company capacities between the corresponding plants.

If plant capacity for a given product was known to be greater than zero, but the exact value could not be found or estimated with confidence, capacity was listed as “>0” and production was listed as “unknown”. If plant capacity or production for a given product was known to be zero, capacity and production were each listed as “N/A” (not applicable). If it could not be determined whether a plant produced a given product or not, capacity and production were each listed as “unknown”. 

Global Energy Monitor’s wiki pages provide detailed capacity and production information by steel and ironmaking process, as well as capacities for ferronickel, coke, iron pellets, and sinter when available.

Plant Status Categories

Announced: Projects that have been announced in corporate or governmental planning documents, but have not begun operation.

Construction: Physical plant structure building has begun.

Operating: Plant is operating one or more iron or steelmaking furnace(s).

Operating pre-retirement: Plant is operating one or more iron or steelmaking furnace(s).

Mothballed: Plant iron and steelmaking has been idled such that it cannot be brought into operation immediately, but is not closed.

Retired: Plant has ceased operations and no longer has ability to produce iron and/or steel.

Cancelled: Plant previously planned or under development that has been cancelled. If no progress or announcements for a proposed plant are made after 5 years, the plant is considered to be cancelled.

Workforce Size

Workforce size for each individual iron and steel plant was researched and recorded if available. Workforce size aims to capture the number of full-time employees working at a given iron and steel plant. In some cases when workforce size could not be found for a specific plant, it was estimated from company-wide workforce data. As the first known attempt to capture the iron and steel industry’s workforce size at the plant-level, GEM presents this data with the caveat that for many plants workforce size remains unknown and/or reported with a lack of transparency for exactly who is included in that workforce size (i.e. full-time vs part-time workers, temporary/contract workers, administrative personnel, etc.). Our aim in providing this data is to create a starting point from which workforce size data can be improved.

Mapping

To allow easy public access to the results, Global Energy Monitor worked with GreenInfo Network to develop a map-based and table-based interface using the Leaflet Open-Source JavaScript library. In the case of exact coordinates, locations have been visually determined using Google Maps, Google Earth, Planet Labs, or Wikimapia. For proposed projects, exact locations, if available, are from permit applications or other company documentation. If the location of a plant or proposal is not known, GEM identifies the most approximate location.