全球能源监测

其他咨询

全球钢厂追踪器与全球高炉追踪器有何不同?

GSPT 跟踪所有钢铁生产路线,而 GBFT 仅关注工厂的一种类型的装置(高炉)。 GBFT 提供了有关高炉的更多详细信息,但不包括有关钢铁生产链任何其他要素的信息。

钢铁是怎样炼成的?

今天有多种不同的钢铁生产方法在使用。 粗钢通常在电弧炉(EAF),碱性氧气炉(BOF)或平底炉(OHF)中生产。 向电弧炉喂入废金属,生铁(也称为粗铁或铁水),海绵铁(也称为直接还原铁(DRI)或热压块铁(HBI))或这些铁源的某种组合。 BOF和OHF通常以生铁为原料,但可以补充少量的废金属或DRI。 生铁通常在高炉(BF)中由铁矿石和炼焦煤(也称为焦炭)生产,而DRI在直接还原铁厂中由铁矿石(无炼焦煤)和氢气生产。 一些钢铁厂仅使用一种类型的生产路线(通常是高炉-转炉或DRI-EAF),但有些工厂则使用多种不同的生产路线。

地图

地图上的彩色圆点是什么意思?

颜色表示钢铁的生产方法。

“综合”炼钢是指在现场同时生产钢铁和钢铁的钢铁厂(与仅生产铁或仅从购买的铁材料生产钢的工厂相反)。 换句话说,综合工厂既生产钢铁,也生产用于制造钢铁的铁材料。 综合钢铁厂可能使用不同的熔炉组合来生产钢铁。 综合炼钢的排放主要在炼铁过程中产生。 因此,综合炼钢工艺按以下详述的炼铁工艺划分。

“炼铁”是指仅生产铁制品的工厂。 炼铁厂包括使用高炉和直接还原铁生产的工厂。

“电”炼钢是指仅在现场生产钢(而非铁)并使用电弧炉的钢厂。 炼钢厂可以使用废金属,海绵铁,生铁或这些铁材料的某种组合作为饲料。

在GSPT中,炼钢路线分为以下几类:

  • 电:仅在现场生产钢并使用电弧炉(EAF)的工厂。
  • 电氧气:仅在现场生产钢并使用电弧炉(EAF)和碱性氧气炉(BOF)的工厂。
  • 氧气:仅在现场生产钢铁并使用碱性氧气炉 (BOF) 的工厂。
  • 综合(BF):现场生产钢铁的工厂。 生铁在高炉(BF)中生产。 可以使用一种或多种类型的熔炉生产钢。
  • 综合(DRI):现场生产钢铁的工厂。 海绵铁是在直接还原铁工厂(DRI工厂)中生产的。 可以使用一种或多种类型的熔炉生产钢。
  • 综合(高炉和直接还原铁):现场生产钢铁的工厂。 生铁在高炉(BF)中生产,海绵铁在直接还原铁工厂(DRI工厂)中生产。 可以使用一种或多种类型的熔炉生产钢。
  • 综合(其他):现场同时生产钢铁的工厂。 生铁是通过直接熔炼工艺生产的。 可以使用一种或多种类型的熔炉生产钢。
  • 综合(未知):现场生产钢铁的工厂。 用于生产铁的炉子是未知的。 可以使用一种或多种类型的熔炉生产钢。
  • 炼铁 (BF):仅在现场生产铁的工厂。 生铁在高炉 (BF) 中生产。
  • 炼铁 (DRI):现场仅生产铁的工厂。 海绵铁在直接还原铁工厂(DRI 工厂)中生产。
  • 炼铁(BF 和 DRI):现场只生产铁的工厂。 生铁在高炉 (BF) 中生产,海绵铁在直接还原铁厂(DRI 厂)中生产。
  • 炼铁(未知):现场只生产铁的工厂。 用于生产铁的炉子是未知的。
  • 未知:工厂炼钢工艺未知。
我可以更改地图显示的生产方法类别吗?

是。 转到图例(地图的右下角),然后单击颜色旁边的框。

如何定义工厂状态?

工厂状态分类如下:

  • 已公布:已在企业或政府规划文件中公布但尚未开始建设的项目。
  • 建设:物理植物结构建设已经开始。
  • 运行中:工厂正在运行一个或多个炼铁炉。
  • 封存:钢铁厂已经闲置,无法立即投入运营,但没有关闭。
  • 退役前运营:工厂目前正在运营,但已宣布计划退役其炼铁或炼钢产能。
  • 退役:工厂已停止运营,不再具有生产铁和/或钢的能力。
  • 已取消:先前计划或正在开发的工厂已被取消。如果已宣布的工厂5年后没有任何进展或公告,则该工厂被视为被取消。
我放大了,但没有看到钢铁厂。 为什么?

在某些情况下,只能找到大概的位置信息。

如何确定位置是准确的还是近似的?

要查找位置的坐标以及位置是精确的还是近似的,请单击位置点,选择Wiki页面,然后在“项目详细信息”下查找。

数据表

我可以看一下钢铁厂的清单吗?

是的,单击地图左上角的“表格”。

报道

跟踪器是否显示每个国家所有运营的钢铁厂?

不。全球钢铁厂追踪包括所有运营中的年产能为 1 万吨或以上的粗铁和钢铁生产厂,以及计划在 2024 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日之前进行扩建以使工厂产能达到这一门槛的工厂。 GSPT 也仅限于在现场生产粗铁和/或钢的工厂(省略了将粗钢加工成最终产品的轧钢厂等工厂)。

您如何定义产能和产量?

产能是钢铁厂利用目前在场的设备能够生产的粗铁或钢吨数。 产量是工厂在给定年份每年生产的实际粗铁或粗钢吨数。 产能利用率可以计算为产能与产能超过产能之间的差值。

“单位”和“植物”之间有什么区别?

跟踪器提供关于通常存在于特定位置的多个熔炉或钢铁制造设备的每一个的单独数据。 这些熔炉或钢铁制造设备中的每一个都被称为一个“单元”。 给定位置的整个单元集合称为“工厂”。

劳动力规模如何定义?

劳动力规模旨在捕捉在给定钢铁厂工作的全职员工的数量。 在某些情况下,当无法找到特定工厂的劳动力规模时,它是根据公司范围内的劳动力数据估算的。 作为已知的第一个在工厂级别捕获钢铁行业劳动力规模的尝试,GEM 提供此数据时需要注意的是,对于许多工厂来说,劳动力规模仍然未知和/或报告的具体人员数量缺乏透明度。劳动力规模(即全职与兼职工人、临时/合同工、行政人员等)。 我们提供这些数据的目的是创建一个可以改进劳动力规模数据的起点。

什么是“产能运行状态”以及如何使用它?

产能运行状态表明工厂的钢铁产能是否处于运行状态;可能的状态有:“宣布”、“建设”、“运营”、“封存”、“退休前运营”、“退休”和“取消”。截至 2024 年更新,每个工厂的产能针对每个适用的运行状态分为不同的行,从而提供具有不同运行状态的机组的工厂的更多详细信息。例如,一个正在运行的工厂可能有 3 个氧气转炉,其中 2 个正在运行,1 个处于封存状态。产能运行状态为“运行”的行的“名义转炉钢铁产能”列中将显示各运行机组的总产能,产能运行状态为“封存”的行中将显示被封存的机组产能。

为什么“详细生产设备”数据类别中缺少高炉?

自全球高炉追踪器启动以来,高炉单位被记录在单独的数据集中。在 wiki 页面上,“高炉详细信息”部分包含有关这些设备的所有信息。

为什么同一株植物有不止一行?如何区分这些行?

当数据集中一种植物有多个行时,这表明该植物具有处于不同发育阶段的单位。特定工厂的每一行代表与不同运行状态相关的容量(请参阅上面的“什么是‘容量运行状态’以及如何使用它?”)或开发/关闭时间表。

要确定行之间的差异,首先查看“容量运行状态”。如果具有相同运行状态的工厂有多个条目,则查看“日期”数据(“开始日期”、“退役日期”等)应阐明各个阶段。例如,您可能会看到给定工厂有两行处于“运行”状态,但其中一行的开始日期为 2015 年,另一行的开始日期为 2020 年;这表明一些产能在 2015 年上线,然后工厂进行了扩建,这些额外产能在 2020 年上线。工厂的总产能应视为具有该工厂 ID 的所有行的总和。

为什么会有一个没有钢铁产能的“运营”行?

数据集中部分行产能运行状态为“运行中”,所有钢铁产能列中均显示“N/A”;这表明该工厂的所有产能都在该工厂的其他行中表示,因为该产能随着时间的推移而发生变化,通常是由于该工厂的技术转型。其他工厂特定数据(例如上游材料产能和劳动力信息)仍包含在该行中,但为了全面了解钢铁产能,您应该结合查看工厂的所有行。

为什么数据集中的某些行的生产设备和工艺条目与产能信息不匹配?

“主要生产设备”和“主要生产流程”数据列出了整个阶段的所有设备,但有些阶段有多行以显示不同运行状态的产能(参见“为什么同一工厂有多行” ?”)。因此,对于属于同一生产路径的所有行,“主要生产设备”和“主要生产过程”列将相同,即使该行的产能数据列中仅反映了该产能的一部分。例如,您可能会看到一行列出了“集成 (BF)”工艺和“BF、BOF”设备,但仅显示高炉容量。但是,如果您查看与植物 ID 对应的所有行,您将看到该技术反映在那里。

GSPT 中的所有权如何体现?

截至 2024 年更新,GSPT 已将其所有者和母公司数据与 GEM 的数据集成 全球能源所有权追踪。请访问该项目的主页以获取更多信息。

GSPT 在“所有者”栏中报告该工厂的第一个所有者/经营者,在“母公司”栏中报告最终母公司及其在工厂中的股权百分比。如果有母公司未列出持股比例,则确切的比例数据尚未得到确认。

改善追踪器

如果发现错误或项目丢失怎么办?

请填写错误报告表 相关信息.

积分

谁建立了这个工具?

该跟踪器由全球能源监测公司设计和生产。在可能的情况下,跟踪器中的信息已由熟悉特定国家/地区的研究人员进行了验证。以下人员参与了逐厂研究:Astrid Grigsby-Schulte(全球能源监测)、Caitlin Swalec(全球能源监测)、Gregor Clark(全球能源监测)、Hanna Fralikhina(全球能源监测)、Henna Khadeeja(全球能源监测)能源监测)、Jessiezhizhi(全球能源监测)、Marie Armbruster(全球能源监测)、Natalia Fretz(全球能源监测)、Norah Elmagraby(全球能源监测)、Zhanaiym Kozybay(全球能源监测)、Ziwei Zhu(全球能源监测) )、Wynn Feng(全球能源监测)、Xiaojun Peng(全球能源监测)、Ali Hasanbeigi(全球效率情报)、Harshvardhan Khutal(全球效率情报)、Pinchookorn Chobthiangtham(全球效率情报)、Nihan Karali(劳伦斯伯克利国家实验室) 、Reza Shamshirgaran(马来西亚国家石油大学)、Zulfikar Yurnaidi(东盟能源中心)、Zakariae Mellouk(摩洛哥顾问)、Ray Pilcher(Raven Ridge Resources)、Ariane DesRosiers(前全球能源监测)、Christine Shearer(全球能源)监测)、Dorothy Mei(全球能源监测)、Kate Logan(原全球能源监测)和 Aiqun Yu(全球能源监测)。该项目由 Astrid Grigsby-Schulte 管理,属于 GEM 的重工业计划,由 Caitlin Swalec 管理,并得到了 Louisa Plotnick 和 Ted Nace 的支持。 Web/GIS 编程由 Tom Allnutt 和 Gregor Allensworth (GreenInfo Network) 在 Tim Sinnott (GreenInfo Network) 的支持下完成。

如何引用数据?

请参阅 下载数据 引文指南页面。

Global Energy Monitor

General

How is the Global Steel Plant Tracker different from the Global Blast Furnace Tracker?

While the GSPT tracks all iron and steel production routes, the GBFT focuses on only one type of unit (blast furnaces) at the plants. The GBFT offers more details on blast furnaces and does not include information on any other elements of the iron and steel production chain.

How are iron and steel made?

There are a variety of different steel production methods in use today. Crude steel is typically produced in an electric arc furnace (EAF), basic oxygen furnace (BOF), or open hearth furnace (OHF). EAFs are fed scrap metal, pig iron (aka crude iron or hot metal), sponge iron (aka direct reduced iron (DRI) or hot briquetted iron (HBI)), or some combination of these iron sources. BOFs and OHFs are typically fed pig iron, but may be supplemented with smaller amounts of scrap metal or DRI. Pig iron is typically produced from iron ore and coking coal (aka coke) in a blast furnace (BF) and DRI is produced in a direct reduced iron plant from iron ore (no coking coal) and hydrogen. Some steel plants operate only one type of production route (typically either BF-BOF or DRI-EAF), but some operate multiple different production routes.

Maps

What do the colored dots on the map mean?

The colors indicate the iron and steel production method.

“Integrated” steelmaking refers to steel plants that produce both iron and steel onsite (as opposed to plants that only produce iron or produce steel from purchased iron materials only). In other words, integrated plants produce both steel and the iron material used to make the steel. Integrated steel plants may use different combinations of furnaces to produce iron and steel. Emissions from integrated steelmaking are mainly produced during the ironmaking process. Thus, integrated steelmaking processes are divided by ironmaking processes as detailed below.

“Ironmaking” refers to plants that produce iron products only. Ironmaking plants include plants that use blast furnaces and direct reduced iron production.

“Electric” steelmaking refers to steel plants that only produce steel onsite (not iron) and use an electric arc furnace. Electric steelmaking plants may use scrap metal, sponge iron, pig iron, or some combination of these iron materials as feed.

In the GSPT, steelmaking routes are categorized as follows:

  • Electric: Plants that produce only steel onsite and use an electric arc furnace (EAF).
  • Electric, oxygen: Plants that produce only steel onsite and use an electric arc furnace (EAF) and basic oxygen furnace (BOF).
  • Oxygen: Plants that produce only steel onsite and use a basic oxygen furnace (BOF).
  • Integrated (BF): Plants that produce both iron and steel onsite. Pig iron is produced in a blast furnace (BF). Steel may be produced using one or more types of furnaces.
  • Integrated (DRI): Plants that produce both iron and steel onsite. Sponge iron is produced in a direct reduced iron plant (DRI plant). Steel may be produced using one or more types of furnaces.
  • Integrated (BF and DRI): Plants that produce both iron and steel onsite. Pig iron is produced in a blast furnace (BF) and sponge iron is produced in a direct reduced iron plant (DRI plant). Steel may be produced using one or more types of furnaces.
  • Integrated (other): Plants that produce both iron and steel onsite. Pig iron is produced through a direct smelting process. Steel may be produced using one or more types of furnaces.
  • Integrated (unknown): Plants that produce both iron and steel onsite. Furnace(s) used to produce iron is unknown. Steel may be produced using one or more types of furnaces.
  • Ironmaking (BF): Plants that produce only iron onsite. Pig iron is produced in a blast furnace (BF).
  • Ironmaking (DRI): Plants that produce only iron onsite. Sponge iron is produced in a direct reduced iron plant (DRI plant).
  • Ironmaking (BF and DRI): Plants that produce only iron onsite. Pig iron is produced in a blast furnace (BF) and sponge iron is produced in a direct reduced iron plant (DRI plant).
  • Ironmaking (unknown): Plants that produce only iron onsite. Furnace(s) used to produce iron is unknown.
  • Unknown: Plant steelmaking process is unknown.
Can I change the production method categories that the map is showing?

Yes. Go to the legend (bottom right corner of the map) and click in the box next to a color.

How is plant status defined?

Plant status is categorized as follows:

  • Announced: Projects that have been announced in corporate or governmental planning documents, but have not begun construction.
  • Construction: Physical plant structure building has begun.
  • Operating: Plant is operating one or more iron or steelmaking furnace(s).
  • Mothballed: Plant iron and steelmaking has been idled such that it cannot be brought into operation immediately, but is not closed.
  • Operating pre-retirement: Plant is currently operating, but has announced plans to retire its iron or steelmaking capacity.
  • Retired: Plant has ceased operations and no longer has the ability to produce iron and/or steel.
  • Cancelled: Plant previously planned or under development that has been cancelled. If no progress or announcements for an announced plant are made after 5 years, the plant is considered to be cancelled.
I’ve zoomed in, but don’t see an iron or steel plant. Why?

In some cases, only approximate location information could be found.

How do I find out if a location is exact or approximate?

To find out the coordinates of a location and whether a location is exact or approximate, click on the location dot, select the wiki page, and look under “Project Details.”

Data Table

Can I see a list of the iron and steel plants?

Yes, click on “Table” in the top left corner of the map.

Coverage

Does the tracker show all the operating iron and steel plants in each country/area?

No. The Global Steel Plant Tracker includes all operating crude iron and steel production plants with capacity of five hundred thousand tonnes per annum or greater, as well as plants with proposed expansions made by March 1, 2024 that bring the plant’s capacity to this threshold. The GSPT is also limited to plants that produce crude iron and/or steel onsite (plants such as rolling mills that process crude steel into final products are omitted).

How do you define capacity and production?

Capacity is the tonnes of crude iron or steel per annum that an iron and steel plant is capable of producing with units currently onsite. Production is actual tonnes of crude iron or steel per annum produced at a plant in a given year. Capacity utilization may be calculated as the difference between capacity and production over capacity.

What is the difference between “units” and “plants?”

The tracker provides separate data on each of the multiple furnaces or pieces of iron and steelmaking equipment that typically exist at a particular location. Each of these furnaces or iron and steelmaking equipment pieces is referred to as a “unit.” The entire collection of units at a given location is referred to as a “plant.”

How is workforce size defined?

Workforce size aims to capture the number of full-time employees working at a given iron and steel plant. In some cases when workforce size could not be found for a specific plant, it was estimated from company-wide workforce data. As the first known attempt to capture the iron and steel industry’s workforce size at the plant-level, GEM presents this data with the caveat that for many plants workforce size remains unknown and/or reported with a lack of transparency for exactly who is included in that workforce size (i.e. full-time vs part-time workers, temporary/contract workers, administrative personnel, etc.). Our aim in providing this data is to create a starting point from which workforce size data can be improved.

What is “capacity operating status” and how is it used?

Capacity operating status indicates whether iron/steel capacity at a plant is operational; possible statuses are: “announced”, “construction”, “operating”, “mothballed”, “operating pre-retirement”, “retired”, and “cancelled”. As of the 2024 update, the capacity at each plant is separated into different rows for each applicable operating status, providing additional detail on plants with units of different operating statuses. For example, an operating plant may have 3 basic oxygen furnaces, 2 operating and 1 mothballed. The summed capacity of the operating units will appear in the “Nominal BOF steel capacity” column of the row with the capacity operating status set to “operating” and the mothballed unit’s capacity will appear in the row with the capacity operating status “mothballed”.

Why are blast furnaces missing from the “Detailed production equipment” data category?

Since the launch of the Global Blast Furnace Tracker, blast furnace units are recorded in a separate dataset. On wiki pages the “Blast Furnace Details” section contains all information on these units.

Why is there more than one row for the same plant and how does one differentiate the rows?

When there are multiple rows for one plant in the dataset this indicates that the plant has units at different stages of development. Each row attached to a particular plant represents capacity associated with distinct operating statuses (see “What is ‘capacity operating status’ and how is it used?” above) or development/shutdown timelines.

To determine the difference between rows, first look to “capacity operating status”. If there are multiple entries for a plant with the same operating status, reviewing “date” data (“start date”, “retired date”, etc.) should illuminate the various stages. For instance, you might see two rows for a given plant with an “operating” status, but one has a start date of 2015 and the other has a start date of 2020; this indicates that some capacity came online in 2015, then the plant was expanded and this additional capacity came online in 2020. A plant’s total capacity should be taken as the sum of all rows with that plant ID.

Why is there an “operating” row with no iron or steel capacity?

Some rows in the dataset have an “operating” capacity operating status and show “N/A” in all iron and steel capacity columns; this indicates that all capacity at that plant is represented in other rows for the plant as that capacity has shifted over time, usually due to a technology transition at the plant. Other plant-specific data such as upstream material capacities and workforce information are still included in this row, but for a complete picture of iron and steel capacity you should look at all rows for the plant in combination.

Why do some rows in the dataset have production equipment and process entries that don’t match the capacity information?

The “main production equipment” and “main production process” data list all of the equipment in the entire phase, but some phases have multiple rows to show capacity with different operating statuses (see “Why is there more than one row for the same plant?”). So, the “main production equipment” and “main production process” columns will be the same for all rows that are part of the same production pathway, even if only part of that capacity is reflected in the capacity data column of that row. For instance, you may see a row that has an “integrated (BF)” process and “BF, BOF” equipment listed, but only blast furnace capacity showing up. However, if you look at all rows corresponding with the plant ID, you will see this technology reflected there.

How is ownership shown in the GSPT?

As of the 2024 update, the GSPT has integrated its owner and parent data with GEM’s Global Energy Ownership Tracker. Please visit that project’s homepage for more information.

The GSPT reports the first owner/operator of the plant in the “Owner” column and the ultimate parent companies along with their percent stake in the plant in the “Parent” column. If there is a parent with no stake percentage listed, the exact percentage data has not been confirmed.

Improving the Tracker

What if I find an error or a missing project?

Please fill out an error report form here.

Credits

Who built this tool?

The tracker was designed and produced by Global Energy Monitor. To the extent possible, the information in the tracker has been verified by researchers familiar with particular countries. The following people participated in plant-by-plant research: Astrid Grigsby-Schulte (Global Energy Monitor), Caitlin Swalec (Global Energy Monitor), Gregor Clark (Global Energy Monitor), Hanna Fralikhina (Global Energy Monitor), Henna Khadeeja (Global Energy Monitor), Jessie Zhi (Global Energy Monitor), Marie Armbruster (Global Energy Monitor), Natalia Fretz (Global Energy Monitor), Norah Elmagraby (Global Energy Monitor), Zhanaiym Kozybay (Global Energy Monitor), Ziwei Zhang (Global Energy Monitor), Wynn Feng (Global Energy Monitor), Xiaojun Peng (Global Energy Monitor), Ali Hasanbeigi (Global Efficiency Intelligence), Harshvardhan Khutal (Global Efficiency Intelligence), Pinchookorn Chobthiangtham (Global Efficiency Intelligence), Nihan Karali (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), Reza Shamshirgaran (Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS of Malaysia), Zulfikar Yurnaidi (ASEAN Center for Energy), Zakariae Mellouk (consultant, Morocco), Ray Pilcher (Raven Ridge Resources), Ariane DesRosiers (formerly Global Energy Monitor), Christine Shearer (Global Energy Monitor), Dorothy Mei (Global Energy Monitor), Kate Logan (formerly Global Energy Monitor), and Aiqun Yu (Global Energy Monitor). The project is managed by Astrid Grigsby-Schulte, within GEM’s Heavy Industry Program, managed by Caitlin Swalec, with support from Louisa Plotnick and Ted Nace. Web/GIS programming was done by Tom Allnutt and Gregor Allensworth (GreenInfo Network), with support from Tim Sinnott (GreenInfo Network).

How do I cite the data?

Please refer to the Download Data page for citation guidance.