全球能源监测

结构

全球能源监测的全球煤矿追踪器使用两级系统来组织信息,包括数据库和具有更多信息的Wiki页面。该数据库追踪各个煤矿,并包含诸如运营商和所有权结构,煤矿状态,煤矿和煤炭类型,员工人数以及位置等信息。在GEM.wiki中为每个煤矿创建的Wiki页面包含更详细的,带注脚的信息,例如矿山历史,劳工活动和公众反对。数据库和Wiki页面每半年更新一次,分别在XNUMX月和XNUMX月。

研究过程

各个国家/地区的煤矿初步清单均来自公共和私人数据来源,包括全球能源观测站,欧洲煤炭和褐煤协会(EURACOAL),全球甲烷计划国家概况,采矿数据在线以及公司和政府的各种信息来源。然后将数据与下面列出的其它信息源进行了核查。 

煤矿数据通过以下五个主要来源进行验证和更新:

  • -个别煤矿的政府数据(例如中国国家能源局,澳大利亚矿山地图集和美国矿山安全与健康管理局的矿山检索系统);国家能源和资源计划;以及追踪煤矿许可和申请的政府网站,包括加拿大影响评估局和澳大利亚首席经济学家办公室“资源与能源重大项目清单”。 -国有和私营采矿公司的报告;
  • -新闻和媒体报道;
  • 新闻和媒体报道;
  • 追踪采矿许可证和矿山作业的地方非政府组织; 
  • -可以提供有关项目或矿山第一手信息的在地联系人。 

在可能的情况下,我们会将煤矿数据分发给熟悉当地条件和语言的研究人员查看。

维基页面

对于每个煤矿及其提案,都会在全球能源监测的GEM.wiki上创建一个Wiki页面。 Wiki页面提供了一个详细信息的资料库,包括项目背景,融资,环境影响,煤炭类型和来源,公众反对,航空照片,视频,许可证链接,坐标和地图。根据Wiki标准惯例,所有信息都链接到已发布的参考信息来源,例如新闻文章,公司或政府报告或监管许可。为了确保开放访问的Wiki环境中的数据可信性,全球能源监测研究人员检查了所有未知编辑人员对项目Wiki页面的编辑(虽然这种情况较少发生)。

二氧化碳排放

对于每个煤矿,追踪器根据以下信息计算二氧化碳排放量:

  • 产量(百万吨); 
  • 煤种换算系数(TJ / kt);
  • 有效二氧化碳排放因子(kg CO2 / TJ);
  • 排除因素

可以在GEM.wiki上的“估算煤矿的二氧化碳排放量”中找到包括参数和信息来源的更多详细信息。

甲烷排放

对于每个煤矿,追踪器根据以下信息计算煤矿甲烷排放量:

  • -产量(吨); 
  • -给定开采深度的气体含量(立方米/吨);
  • -排放因子系数

-包括参数和信息来源在内的更多详细信息可以在GEM.wiki上的“估算煤矿的甲烷排放量”中找到。

地图绘制

为了方便公众获取结果,全球能源监测与绿色信息网络(GreenInfo Network)合作,使用Leaflet Open-Source JavaScript库开发了基于地图和基于表格的界面。在具有精确坐标的情况下,已使用Google Maps,Google Earth,Planet Labs或Wikimapia确定了位置。对于规划中的项目,确切的位置(如果可知)来自申请书或其它公司文档。如果工厂或者规划工厂的位置未知,GEM会确定最近似的位置。

Global Energy Monitor

Architecture

Global Energy Monitor’s Global Coal Mine Tracker uses a two-level system for organizing information, consisting of both a database and wiki pages with further information. The database tracks individual coal mines and includes information such as operator and ownership structure, mine status, mine and coal type, workforce size, and location. A wiki page created for each coal mine in GEM.wiki contains more detailed, footnoted information such as mine history, labor activity, and public opposition. The database and wiki pages are updated bi-annually, in January and July.

Research Process

Preliminary lists of coal mines in each country were gathered from public and private data sources including Global Energy Observatory, European Association for Coal and Lignite (EURACOAL), Global Methane Initiative Country Profiles, Mining Data Online, as well as various company and government sources. The data was then vetted against additional sources of information, listed below. 

Coal mine data is validated and updated through five main sources:

  • Government data on individual coal mines (such as China’s National Energy Administration, Australian Mine Atlas, and the U.S. Mine Safety and Health Administration’s Mine Retrieval System); country energy and resource plans; and government websites tracking coal mine permits and applications, including Canada’s Impact Assessment Agency and Australia’s Office of the Chief Economist “Resource and Energy Major Projects List.”
  • Reports by state-owned and private mining companies;
  • News and media reports;
  • Local non-governmental organizations tracking mining permits and mine operations; 
  • On the ground contacts who can provide first-hand information about a project or mine. 

Where possible, coal mine data is circulated for review to researchers familiar with local conditions and languages.

Wiki Pages

For each coal mine and proposal, a wiki page is created on Global Energy Monitor’s GEM.wiki. Wiki pages provide a repository for in-depth information including project background, financing, environmental impacts, coal types and sources, public opposition, aerial photographs, videos, links to permits, coordinates, and maps. Under standard wiki convention, all information is linked to a published reference, such as a news article, company or government report, or a regulatory permit. In order to ensure data integrity in the open-access wiki environment, Global Energy Monitor researchers review all edits of project wiki pages by unknown editors, an infrequent occurrence.

Carbon Dioxide Emissions

For each coal mine, the tracker calculates carbon dioxide emissions based on the following information:

  • Production (million tonnes); 
  • Coal type conversion factor (TJ/kt);
  • Effective CO2 emissions factor (kg CO2/TJ);
  • Exclusion factor.

Further details including parameters and sources can be found at Estimating Carbon Dioxide Emissions from Coal Mines on GEM.wiki.

Methane Emissions

For each coal mine, the tracker calculates coal mine methane emissions based on the following information:

  • Production (tonnes); 
  • Gas content at given mining depth (m3/tonnes);
  • Emissions factor coefficient

Further details including parameters and sources can be found at Estimating Methane Emissions from Coal Mines on GEM.wiki.

Mapping

To allow easy public access to the results, Global Energy Monitor worked with GreenInfo Network to develop a map-based and table-based interface using the Leaflet Open-Source JavaScript library. In the case of exact coordinates, locations have been visually determined using Google Maps, Google Earth, Planet Labs, or Wikimapia. For proposed projects, exact locations, if available, are from permit applications or other company documentation. If the location of a plant or proposal is not known, GEM identifies the most approximate location.